New Mexico Defense Lawyers Association 
Log in

Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the 2018 NMDLA Lawyer of the Year Award Winners!

The awards will be presented on September 28, 2018 at the NMDLA Annual Meeting Awards Luncheon.

Outstanding Civil Defense Lawyer 
of the Year Award

S. Carolyn Ramos, Esq.
Butt Thornton & Baehr PC  

S. Carolyn Ramos is a shareholder and director with the law firm of Butt Thornton & Baehr PC in Albuquerque, New Mexico, where her litigation and trial practice focuses on the defense of transportation, product liability, sports venue and other catastrophic personal injury cases. She was born and raised in New York City and earned her bachelor's degree from Middlebury College, where she subsequently sat as a trustee and fellow for five years. Carolyn earned her Juris Doctor from the University of New Mexico School of Law. Prior to law school, Carolyn was a Teach for America Corps Member in Washington, D.C. She is a past-president and board member of the New Mexico Defense Lawyers Association, Chair of the Women's Initiative Practice Group of ALFA International and actively involved in ALFA International's Transportation Practice Group. Carolyn is bilingual, AV rated by Martindale-Hubbell, has been included in Best Lawyers in America and named a Southwest Super Lawyer. She is also a passionate Yankee fan and proud baseball Mom!  

Young Lawyer of the Year Award 

David Gonzales, Esq.
Riley, Shane & Keller, P.A. 

David Gonzales is a shareholder at Riley, Shane & Keller, P.A.  He has represented local, national, and multinational clients in a variety of complex lawsuits and disputes including in the areas of commercial litigation, construction, employment discrimination, breach of contract, securities litigation, property actions, personal and catastrophic injury, and professional liability.  David has successfully defended lawsuits in state and federal courts, in various arbitration forums, and has also worked internationally as part of large corporate litigation, including in Macau, China on behalf of a multinational hotel and casino.  David is currently the DRI State Membership Chair for New Mexico and is a former member of the NMDLA Board of Directors.  During his tenure on the NMDLA Board, he helped establish the NMDLA Student Chapter at UNM Law School.  He also currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Carrie Tingley Hospital Foundation and chairs the Foundation's Quality of Life Committee. 


Outstanding Lawyer of the Year

Outstanding Lawyer of the Year is awarded to attorneys who have, by their ethical, personal, and professional conduct exemplified for their fellow attorneys the epitome of professionalism and ability.

Past Recipients:

2017: Mark Mowery, Esq.

2016: Lee M. Rogers, Jr., Esq.

2015: Mark J. Riley, Esq.

2014: Stephen G. French, Esq.

2013: William P. Slattery , Esq.

2012: Stephen M. Simone, Esq.

2011: Emily Franke, Esq.

2010: R. E. Thompson

2008: Al Green

2007: Thomas Sandenaw

2006: William Gralow

2005: Charles Pharris

2004: Robert Sabin

2003: Bruce Hall

Young Lawyer of the Year

Young Lawyer of the Year is awarded to attorneys who have not practiced more than five years or are under the age of 36 and have, by their ethical, personal, and professional conduct, shown exemplary achievement in the legal profession and/or who have contributed time and expertise to the NMDLA.

Past Recipients:

2017: Justin D. Goodman, Esq.

2016: Corinne L. Holt, Esq.

2015: Tomas J. Garcia, Esq.

2014: Alicia Santos, Esq.

2013: Erica R. Neff, Esq.

2012: Tiffany Roach Martin

2011: Cody R. Rogers, Esq.

2010: Lorena Olmos

2008: Jessica Hernandez

2007: Raul P. Sedillo

PO Box 94116 | Albuquerque, NM 87199-4116
Email: | Phone: 800.426.3265 | Fax: 877.245.5021


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software