Congratulations to the 2019 NMDLA Lawyer of the Year Award Winners!

The awards were presented during the 2019 Annual Meeting Awards Luncheon on September 13, 2019 at the Santa Ana Golf Club in Santa Ana Pueblo, NM  

Outstanding Civil Defense Lawyer 

Meena Allan, Esq.
Allen Law Firm, LLC.

Meena Allen is the founding member of Allen Law Firm, LLC. Her practice is focused primarily on the representation of clients in a variety of commercial and insurance related disputes, including representation in all types of litigation involving trucking claims, personal injury, breach of contract, insurance coverage, bad faith litigation, first party and third party defense, environmental issues, class actions and medical malpractice. She also maintains a vibrant appellate practice. She is AV rated and selected coverage attorney by Super Lawyers for 2015-2019. Ms. Allen has authored articles for the DRI on insurance matters and tried numerous cases.

Ms. Allen is admitted to the New Mexico bar, U.S. District Court, District of New Mexico; U.S. Court of Appeals, 10th Circuit; New Mexico, Hopi Tribal Courts and Navajo Nation Tribal Courts. Ms. Allen obtained her LL.M. in Insurance Law from University of Connecticut; JD from Texas Tech University School of Law, MCJ from New Mexico State University and Bachelor of Science from Queen Mary’s College, University of Madras.

Ms. Allen loves to cook, watch movies and travel.

Young Lawyer of the Year  

Brett Eaton, Esq.
Butt Thornton & Baehr PC

Brett C. Eaton is a shareholder with Butt Thornton & Baehr PC in Albuquerque, New Mexico. He is a graduate of the University of New Mexico and the University of New Mexico School of Law. Mr. Eaton’s legal practice focuses on trucking and transportation, products liability, government entities and civil rights litigation, retail litigation, and insurance defense. Mr. Eaton enjoys spending time with his wife and two children, hiking, coaching Little League, and enjoying the pace of slow-pitch rec-league softball.

Read the complete list of past awards recipients.